Skip Navigation LinksAbout-us

About EMTF-7             Coordinating Body          Participating Organizations


Texas Emergency Medical Task Force-7 (EMTF-7)



The Emergency Medical Task Force (EMTF) Project was developed by the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to create a network of regionally based, rapid response medical teams. The goal of the EMTF project is to provide a well coordinated, rapid, professional medical response to large regional or state incidents.


When the EMTF project was developed, careful consideration for organizational development was taken. For years Regional Advisory Councils (RACs) in Texas have brought hospitals, EMS agencies and other healthcare entities together to develop regional Trauma, Stroke, Cardiac and Disaster medical plans. Multiple adjacent Regional Advisory Councils combine to form each EMTF region. Leveraging the capabilities of several RACs ensures that each EMTF is capable of providing the resources and personnel needed in times of disaster. There are 8 Emergency Medical Task Forces in Texas.


EMTF-7 is supported by four member RACs: The Brazos Valley, Capital Area, Central Texas and Heart of Texas Regional Advisory Councils. As of July 1, 2013 the Department of State Health Services has designated the Heart of Texas Regional Advisory Council (HOTRAC) to be the lead contracting RAC for EMTF-7. The 29 central Texas counties of the EMTF-7 Region encompass the cities of Austin, Temple, Killeen, Waco, Brenham, Bryan and College Station.


Each Emergency Medical Task Force is composed of the following components:

     1. Mobile Medical Unit (MMU)

     2. AmBus

     3. Ambulance Strike Teams (AST)

     4. Nurse Strike Teams (RNST)

     5. Medical Incident Support Teams (MIST)

     6. Ambulance Staging Managers (ASM)

    7. Infectious Disease Response Unit (IDRU)

More information on each of these components can be found under the "Components" menu above.

EMTF 2014 09 Coordinators Maps.png